Malcolm X’s birthday

Happy Birthday, Malcolm X. I’ve always felt he got the shaft in history class. Not that MLK Jr. wasn’t an incredible human being; I only wish Malcolm X got the same respect in American society. 

I leave you with one of my favorite columns on Malcolm, by Melissa Harris-Lacewell.

Early in his public career, a young white woman approached Malcolm and asked him what role sincere white allies could have in the struggle for racial equality. He rebuffed her and told her that there was no role for whites at all. Years later, he said he regretted his response and spoke of the difficulty in building workable interracial coalitions. He remained committed to black empowerment and self-governance within African-American organizations, but toward the end of his life he also came to understand the critical importance of anti-racist efforts among white Americans. He taught us that we must acknowledge human interdependence if we hope to build enduring movements out of the fragile and complicated interests that we share. -MHL

“I believe that it would be impossible to find anywhere in America a black man who has lived further down in the mud of human society than I have; or a black man who has been any more ignorant that I have been; or a black man who has suffered more anguish during his life than I have. But it is only after this deepest darkness that the greatest joy can come; it is only after slavery and prison that the sweetest appreciation of freedom can come. I do believe that I have fought the best that I could, with the shortcomings that I have had. I know that my shortcomings are many.”

-Malcolm X

Explore posts in the same categories: Activism, POC

Leave a Reply

